Avocado Based Cool Green Sauce

One of my very favorite things about living in Houston is the Mexican food.  There is nothing quite as good as Tex-Mex from this area.  It is all just so good and tasty.  It certainly doesn’t help that I could eat Mexican food every meal, every single day for the rest of my life and be okay with it.  :)

As a companion to my salsa recipe below, I’m going to show you all how to make the simplest, yet most amazing condiment for Mexican food.  Or just your chips.  Or a spoon.  No judgement here.

It is  very common here in Houston to be seated in a Mexican restaurant and be provided immediately with a basket of chips, a cup of salsa and a cup of the creamiest and yummiest green sauce I’ve ever eaten!  When I had to move away from Houston (for E-I-G-H-T long years!!!) I missed this green sauce so much I spent about 2 months playing with ingredients until I figured it out.  It’s really that good!!!  If you dig avocados and cilantro, this cooling green sauce is just up your alley.  It offers a nice balance to all the heat typically found in Mexican food.

You will need a blender for this recipe.

Recipe

  • 3 to 4 ripe avocados, seeded and out of the skin 
  • 1/2 Cup Crema Mexicana (this is a standard Mexican table condiment, similar to sour cream, but a little thinner and a bit sweeter – this is a must ingredient….if you leave this out, the sauce will not taste right.  You can find it in the ethnic aisle of your grocery store if it has a cold case, or back in the cooler section near the sour cream)
  • 1/2 Cup sour cream
  • 2 green onions, cut into thirds – use it all, even the tops…tons of flavor in the green tops)
  • 1 bunch cilantro, cleaned off the stems
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • water for consistency

This is a ‘raw’ sauce, meaning it will not be cooked or heated prior to serving.  The entire sauce is made in your blender, then it must be kept refrigerated and in a sealed container.  It will remain good for approximately 2 weeks, or as long as the expiration date of your sour cream/crema.

green-sauceAdd all ingredients to your blender, except for the water.  Turn the blender to a high setting to liquify the contents and slowly add water until you get the consistency you want.  It should be somewhat thick but still pourable.  Immediately pour into a container with a lid (my photo shows it in a recycled glass pickle jar) and keep in the refrigerator.

If you keep it in a wide bowl, you will notice some discoloration pretty quickly from the avocados being exposed to the air and oxidizing.  This will not affect the taste of the sauce at all, just mix it all up and it will be fine.  I find that keeping it in a jar, like in my picture, reduces the oxidation of the avocados because not as much of the surface is exposed to the air.

This sauce is great on all kinds of Mexican fare.  Put it on your tacos, put it in your burritos, or enchiladas.  I like to smother my scrambled eggs in the morning with it.  Or, just eat it with chips (or a spoon….remember, no judgement here).

5 Comments

Filed under Mexican, Sauce

5 responses to “Avocado Based Cool Green Sauce

  1. jon

    I bet if you added some lemon or lime you could keep the sauce from turning color…just a thought. This sounds great!

    • Dana

      Yes, you can add a bit of lemon or lime juice and that will help slow the oxidization. However, be careful as adding too much will alter the flavor of the sauce.

  2. This sounds very delicious.

    By “cleaned off the stems” do you mean just the cilantro leaves and not the stems? Are you talking about a bunch like one would buy from a grocery store, or a more specific amount?

    • Dana

      By cleaned off the stems I do indeed mean just the leaves, roughly. Since you are going to puree this into the sauce, having a few stems in there will be fine, but I do try to get most of them out.

      And yes, one bunch is just the bunch you buy at the store. The amount of cilantro you put in is totally subjective and up to you depending on your taste, but I typically use one bunch from the grocery store.

  3. Cath

    Y’all may have known this but I had my mind blown the other day. Did you know that you can FREEZE avocados??? Cut in half and take out the pit. I used my food saver to freeze the avocados. From what I’ve read, the texture changes so thawed avocados would be perfect for something like this sauce. I had 3 avocados from my Green Bean box so discovering that I could freeze them was awesome!

Leave a Reply

